ALFRISTON PARISH COUNCIL

www.alfristonparishcouncil.org.uk

CLERK TO THE COUNCIL

Mrs Victoria Rutt

Telephone - 07936 904743 Email – clerk@alfristonparishcouncil.org.uk 33 Swaines Way Heathfield East Sussex **TN21 0AN**

Monday 10th May 2021

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Alfriston Parish Council (APC) held via Zoom on Tuesday 4th May 2021 at 19:00

Present:

Cllr J Watkins Cllr S Daw Cllr N Beechey Cllr V Cooper Cllr D Bell

Cllr S Rabagliati Cllr R Savage

In attendance:

Victoria Rutt - Parish Clerk Approximately 5 members of the public

1. Chairman's welcome

Cllr Watkins welcomed everyone to the meeting and thanked them for attending. She explained that the Annual General Meeting is usually a run through of the past year and future year, it has been a very difficult year for everyone with the pandemic. APC have managed to have all their meetings via Zoom and this is the last one due to the change in legislation. There will be no further meeting in May and no meeting in June. Meetings will resume as usual in the Memorial Hall from the 19th July 2021.

Cllr Watkins thanked her fellow Councillors for all their hard work this year; Cllr Beechey as Vice Chair as well as The Tye and Recreation Ground, Cllr Cooper for allotments, Cllr Rabagliati for Highways, Cllr Savage for Transport and Rights of Way, Cllr Daw for Strategic Planning and Cllr Bell for Planning, and also to Caroline Adcock. Cllr Watkins continued to thank the following people:

Thank you to Maria Caulfield MP, Cllr Shing and Cllr Lunn who are regular contributors to APC meetings and assist when necessary with any Parish matters that we need help with. Thank you to those who represent our outside bodies: To Steve Woodgate, David Lewis and all in AEG who help constantly around the village. Thank you to Daniel Larkin for being our Tree Warden. To Caroline Adcock and her team for their work with the Voluntary Task Force. Thank you to Heartstart and David for his continued work. Thank you to Nick Cattell for continuing to be our Neighbourhood Watch Co-ordinator. Thank you to John Hurwood for his regular updates in connection with the Flood Forum. Thank you to Michael Anderson for Twinning reports. To Olly Rutt for doing various odd jobs that have needed doing. To Diana Monteath-Wilson for being St Andrew's Church Co-ordinator and regularly reporting to us at meetings. To Sylvia Daw for updating the Council regularly of the activities and developments at the Clergy House. To Adrian Butcher for the updates on the War Memorial Hall. Thank you to Jilly Byford for representing ACC. Last but by no means least a very big thank you to the Clerk. She has been in post for just over four years now and does an amazing job helping with an incredible array of jobs and problems and keeping Councillors on the right track. All Clirs thanked Clerk for all that she does. The Clerk thanked everyone and thanked Cllr Watkins for being a great Chairman. Finally, Cllr Watkins thanked all the members of the public who regularly attend and contribute towards the meetings.

2. **Public Questions**

No questions.

3. **Election of Chairman**

Cllr. Rabagliati proposed and Cllr. Beechey seconded a motion to elect Cllr. Watkins as Chairman. Councillors resolved that Cllr. Watkins is Chair of Alfriston Parish Council.

Declaration of Acceptance of Office by newly appointed Chair 4.

Cllr. Watkins will sign the Declaration of Acceptance of Office via email.

5. **Election of Vice Chairman**

Cllr. Watkins proposed and Cllr. Cooper seconded a motion to elect Cllr. Beechey as Vice Chairman. Councillors resolved that Cllr. Beechey is Vice Chairman of Alfriston Parish Council.

6. Declaration of Acceptance of Office by newly appointed Vice Chairman Cllr. Beechey will sign the Declaration of Acceptance of Office via email.

7. **Apologies for Absence**

No apologies.

8. To agree that Alfriston Parish Council meet the criteria to receive General Power of Competence Clerk reported that APC have met the criteria to receive General Power of Competence [GPC] due to having a qualified Clerk and being two thirds elected. APC continue to have GPC.

9. Written undertakings to observe Code of Conduct

Written undertakings to observe Code of Conduct will be signed and delivered to the Clerk.

10. Register of Members' Interests

Register of Members' interests will be signed and delivered to the Clerk.

11. Consider allocation of Portfolios

All Councillors were asked if they were happy with their current portfolios. All confirmed they were so they will remain the same as below:

11.1 Allotments - Cllr Cooper 11.2 Public Transport - Cllr Savage 11.3 Highways and Twittens - Cllr Rabagliati 11.4 Planning - Cllr Bell 11.5 Rights of Way and Countryside - Cllr Savage 11.6 Strategic Planning - Cllr Daw - Cllr Beechey

11.7 The Tye & Recreation Ground

12. Consider membership of Committees

- 12.1 Finance (4 members) Cllrs Cooper, Watkins, Beechey and Daw
- 12.2 Planning (4 members) Cllrs Bell, Watkins, Beechey and Rabagliati

13. Appointment of representatives to outside bodies

- 13.1 Wealden District Association of Local Councillors (1 Councillor)
- 13.2 Sussex Association of Local Councils (1 Councillor for October AGM) Cllr Savage
- 13.3 Alfriston and Cuckmere Connect (1 representative)
- 13.4 Cuckmere Community Bus (1 representative)
- 13.5 Cuckmere Flood Forum (1 representative)
- 13.6 Tree Warden (1 representative)
- 13.7 Village Hall Committee (1 representative)
- 13.8 Alfriston & Cuckmere Valley Community First Responders
- 13.9 Alfriston Emergency Group
- 13.10 Neighbourhood Watch
- 13.11 St Andrew's
- 13.12 Clergy House

- Cllr Daw
- Mr Nick White
- Cllr Savage
- Mr John Hurwood
- Mr Daniel Larkin
- Cllr Daw
- Mr David Watkins
- Mr Steve Woodgate
- Mr Nick Cattell
- Ms Diana Monteath-Wilson
 - Ms Holly Jones